Job openings will appear under the Human Resources section of this web page.
Entry level police officers must successfully complete a rigid Field Training Program of at least 16 weeks, as well as the Wyoming Law Enforcement Academy in Douglas, Wyoming (at least 16 weeks). Entry level officers will serve a one year probationary period.
Qualifications for entry level police officer:
- 21 years of age
- Valid driver’s license
- No felony convictions
- Ability to display a history of integrity through a rigid background examination
- Ability to pass Wyoming Law Enforcement Physical Training Standards (check link to WLEA) or by clicking here.
Lateral entry (experienced) police officers are encouraged to apply. Out of state lateral entry officers may “challenge” the Wyoming POST exam and attend a two week Academy course if their state’s academy training is recognized by the State of Wyoming.
Dispatch applicants must demonstrate typing proficiency and pass a background examination prior to employment. New hire dispatchers must pass a 15 week (minimum) Field Training Program as well as a two week Academy course in Douglas, Wyoming. New hire dispatchers will serve a one year probationary period.